Modifying Messages

From Subscribe-HR Wiki Help

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Modifying Messages in Subscribe-HR Software

The Subscribe-HR Platform is fairly flexible and allows for customised messages in the system. You may have come across these messages when creating and saving new records or simply by modifying data.
Subscribe-HR currently has 3x types of Message Types, these are:

  • Application Error Messages.
  • Application Warning Messages.
  • Application Info Messages.


It is important to know that not all messages will appear exactly the same in the Messages list as they do when the error occurs.
You may notice that some messages contain %s in them. This is simply a variable string that makes the message dynamic, allowing it to be reused.
Example: The image above displays the error message Date cannot be empty. When searching for this message the actual message is %s cannot be empty.

Searching for and Modifying a Message

  1. After logging into the Subscribe-HR portal, select the Development TAB.
  2. Select the Messages Folder.
  3. Use the search to help locate the message you wish to modify.
  4. Select the message you wish to modify.
  5. Modify the Message content field. Be careful, if a message has the variable string %s, its ideal to leave the string in the error message. If the string %s is removed it may result in what would seem as incomplete messages.
  6. Select the [Save] button.

Creating New Messages

  1. After logging into the Subscribe-HR portal, select the Development TAB.
  2. Select the Messages Folder.
  3. Select the [Add new record] button.
  4. Enter the Message code.
    The message code must be written in the following syntax: messages appearing in the Human Resources area should look like this hr-xxxx (xxxx is where the next incremental numbers are written.
    Messages appearing in the Recruitment area should look like this rec-xxxx (xxxx is where the next incremental numbers are written.
  5. Enter the Message content.
  6. Select the Message type.
  7. Select the [Save] button.


Mandatory fields are marked with Red Asterisk, the record will not be saved unless mandatory fields are filled in first.



File:subscribehr_logo.gif

Personal tools